Review: Blue Lagoon in Reykjavik, Iceland

Review: Blue Lagoon in Reykjavik, Iceland

Reykjavik is amazing! If you’ve not been, go! Book flights now before you continue reading! Remember to come back after you’ve booked though…

As soon as you can, get to the Blue Lagoon! Oh my god, this place is good!

We visited Reykjavik in May 2016 when we got flights from Edinburgh for just £25 return each! Find out how to get cheap flights here. We couldn’t say no to that deal and we were looking up Blue Lagoon packages within minutes of hitting buy on those flights.

Choosing your package

There are three different packages you can buy – entry and a mud mask for ISK 6,100 (£45 / $58), entry, use of a towel, a free drink and two mud masks for ISK 8,100 (£59 / $77) and the Premium includes all of the above plus slippers and a bathrobe, a reservation at the restaurant and sparkling wine for ISK 10,200 (£75 / $97). We went for the Premium option to get the full experience (and we didn’t have our own bathrobes!) so we reserved lunch at the Lava restaurant. It actually gives you an option to get bus transportation too from many of the main hotels, including ours, which was quite handy.

We boarded the minibus at 10am to arrive by 11am. We were joined by a fair amount of tourists including a couple from the US. They were chatting to another couple and were saying they’d heard you can only stay in the water for an hour maximum because it gets boring so quickly. We didn’t have our lunch reservation until 1pm so we had 2 hours in the Lagoon… We were starting to think we might’ve messed up a little!

Arriving at The Blue Lagoon

When you arrive you’re given your bathrobe, slippers and your wristband and the men and women separate to go to their own changing rooms. They tell you that you should wash your hair with conditioner. For those with longer hair, you should actually leave conditioner in so that your hair doesn’t dry out while you’re in the Lagoon. After you make your way through the changing rooms you’re met with the cool sight of the Blue Lagoon.

Blue Lagoon, Reykjavik

It is soooo good!

It is amazinggggggg!

With our package we got a free drink so obviously we chose the more expensive bubbles as our first drink! There are a couple of bars at the side so you never have to leave the water to get your drinks. Armed with our drink, we headed towards the mud masks. There were two options included in our package: silica mud mask and the algae mask. I’ll be honest I have no idea what they do! Smothering your face in mud was pretty fun with some getting in to it a bit more than others!

I really enjoyed just chilling in the water, mud mask on and having a couple of drinks. The water is so warm and the place is so relaxing. I could’ve spent much longer than the two hours in there. You were wrong US couple! Boring pffft!

Quick tip: Bring a waterproof camera or a waterproof pouch to take a mobile phone in. You’ll want some Blue Lagoon selfies!

Lava Restaurant

Next up was our reservation at the Lava restaurant. The restaurant inside was really nice and you get some really nice views of the Lagoon from certain tables.

As you’d expect at tourist traps like these, the restaurant is expensive, very expensive. We had lunch so they had seafood, Icelandic gourmet and vegetarian set menus – ISK 6,600 (£49 / $63) for two courses and ISK 7,600 (£56 / $72) for three courses. We weren’t too fussed about the set menus so we went for the a la carte menu. A starter was around ISK 2,700 (£20 / $26), a main was ISK 4,900 (£36 / $47) with desserts at around ISK 1,900 (£14 / $18).

The food was phenomenal, if you’re a foodie / one of those Instagram food photographers you will love the food. The grilled beef tenderloin and lamb fillet, lovely!

Lava Restaurant, Blue Lagoon

Those views!

You have to exit through the gift store, naturally. A couple of tips for this though – you can buy the same things at the Blue Lagoon airport shop and you can buy online. You get a 10% code sent through pretty quickly (if you ordered tickets online) after arriving home so you could wait a week and save 10%.

All in all, the Blue Lagoon is amazing! I’ll definitely be back! If you do visit, let me know what you think.

Review: Blue Lagoon in Reykjavik, Iceland

Pin Me to Pinterest!

34 Comments

  1. September 11, 2017 / 2:02 pm

    This looks amazing! Definitely want to go visit.

    • David
      Author
      September 12, 2017 / 8:50 pm

      It really is fantastic, I’m already trying to fit in another visit to Reykjavik

  2. September 11, 2017 / 2:05 pm

    I’ve been wanting to do this for years- your post only makes me more anxious to book a flight! Smart tips on the gift shop too!

  3. September 11, 2017 / 2:28 pm

    Love the post! I visited Iceland in May of this year. Unfortunately we were not able to visit the Blue Lagoon though. However, your post is making me wish I did. There is an awesome hot river that is about 45 minuets away from Reykjavik called Reykjaduler if you ever go back! Thanks for sharing!

    • David
      Author
      September 12, 2017 / 8:47 pm

      If you ever go back, definitely make a visit to the Blue Lagoon! Oh I haven’t heard of Reykjaduler so I’ll have to do some research for my next visit to Iceland, thanks!

  4. September 18, 2017 / 9:28 am

    looks like a cool place to hang out… and the view from that table is awesome. I’d love to visit Iceland – I really think I’d love the nature there.

    • David
      Author
      September 20, 2017 / 12:17 am

      I only had time to visit Reykjavik which was disappointing! The nature on the whole of Iceland just seems so amazing so I’ll have to include some ventures when I go back

  5. September 18, 2017 / 11:58 am

    Looks gorgeous-can’t believe you got flights for so cheap! I guess Edinburgh is the place to travel to Iceland from!

    • David
      Author
      September 20, 2017 / 12:18 am

      That was using Nectar points so I’m sure you could get similarly priced flights from wherever you are! 🙂

  6. September 18, 2017 / 11:41 pm

    What a faboulous adventure! I’ve always wanted to visit Blue Lagoon! You got a great deal with that flights, I need to keep eye on them, am sure there i can find something from London. So you think the premium package was worth the money? The water looks fanstastic !

    • David
      Author
      September 20, 2017 / 12:16 am

      I’m sure there will be similarly priced flights from London! The premium package is definitely worth the money, the added extras are really worth the extra money. I can’t wait to go back!

  7. September 21, 2017 / 6:59 am

    Oh wow! That is so beautiful! Iceland is definitely at the top of our bucket list at the moment. 🙂

  8. September 24, 2017 / 2:36 am

    Thanks for sharing your experience. I’m heading to Iceland next month and have been thinking about what package to choose. I’m not sure about the restaurant, isn’t there like a little casual dining area. I’m excited to experience Iceland. I got a taste on a layover and can’t wait to see more.

    • David
      Author
      September 24, 2017 / 1:43 pm

      Enjoy Iceland! There is a smaller more casual cafe there too. The restaurant is lovely (if expensive) so if you get a chance to go then I’d recommend it

  9. September 24, 2017 / 5:25 am

    “Wow” was the word that instantly came to my mind as I started looking at your pictures and reading your post. This seems to be the perfect place to enjoy a dip in Iceland. The views from the changing rooms are just perfect.

  10. Alberto C.
    September 24, 2017 / 10:31 am

    This has been in my bucket list for years, but I had no idea that it was so crazy expensive! I bet it was worth it though, I’d probably go for the Premium package as well and experience the whole thing 🙂

    • David
      Author
      September 24, 2017 / 1:45 pm

      It is quite expensive but it’s something you just have to do if you go to Iceland!

  11. James
    September 24, 2017 / 2:35 pm

    I got my tickets from Manchester to Reykjavik for 70 GBP return and thought I’d done well. 25 GBP return is absolutely incredible! It’s cheaper than Manchester to Edinburgh by train! I did visit the Blue Lagoon but missed the lava restaurant. The view from this restaurant looks well worth the price of the food.

    • David
      Author
      September 26, 2017 / 7:00 pm

      I know! The price isn’t much more than a return to Glasgow from Edinburgh in peak time! The prices you can get are crazy, I guess the peak times are generally winter months so you can potentially see the northern lights.

  12. September 25, 2017 / 8:38 pm

    The view from that table is amazing! the blue lagoon is somewhere I have always wanted to visit! I didn’t know that you could get different types of tickets. And they are cheaper than I expected!

    • David
      Author
      September 26, 2017 / 7:01 pm

      It’s incredible! It’s worth all of the money! Book flights now!

  13. October 4, 2017 / 8:50 pm

    Oh.my.god! This is so useful and I really envy you for those cheap tickets! I’ve been dying to go to Iceland and now that I’ve read your article.. I’m looking forward to it even more! Hopefully, next year!
    Great article! Thanks!

  14. Taylor Johnson
    December 3, 2017 / 8:20 pm

    Wow I can see myself spending all day here! Looks like such a good time. Thanks for the share!

    • David
      Author
      December 4, 2017 / 8:36 am

      I definitely could’ve which is something I didn’t think was possible before we got there!

  15. December 3, 2017 / 9:12 pm

    I actually have a client who went here not too long ago. Like you, she absolutely lovedit.

  16. December 4, 2017 / 12:24 am

    Iceland has forever been so high on my list but I’ve just not managed to get out there so far, I think I’m going to have to go in 2018 – I would have took your advise and booked tickets now but I’m already heading to Morocco soon 😀 However when I do get to Iceland blue lagoon will definitely be one of the first places I go to, it looks spectacular. P.S i love the view from the Lava restaurant 😀

    • David
      Author
      December 4, 2017 / 8:36 am

      You will love Blue Lagoon when you go! I saw a few days ago that a budget airline flies to Morocco and the price is good. I might have to go next year too!

  17. December 4, 2017 / 10:25 am

    Looks awesome..You may have really enjoyed your time there

  18. December 5, 2017 / 5:15 am

    I so want to go here soon. such perfect pics to soothe your eyes. This lagoon is one beauty.thanks for sharing.

  19. Laura
    December 5, 2017 / 4:40 pm

    We went to the Blue Lagoon in the evening after the Golden Circle Tour. It was a fantastic experience and very relaxing with fewer people around in the evening. I was amazed how massive it is, a bit like being in a big steamy lake and even forgot that it was winter. It is definitely worth a visit!!!

    • David
      Author
      December 6, 2017 / 8:25 pm

      I would’ve loved to have gone on the Golden Circle Tour! That was one of the tours I was looking at but the time meant we couldn’t go!

  20. December 5, 2017 / 6:50 pm

    This is heavenly and beautiful. Blue is my favorite colour and if i visit this place in a person, i would make sure i never return from here no matter what. Love the Mother Nature.

  21. January 1, 2018 / 12:56 pm

    £25 return from Edinburgh! What a deal! It looks amazing, especially the lava restaurant by the lagoon! Inspiring read!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.